SIT-A-LONG with JUNDO: Four Noble Truths - IV (Eightfold Path)

| No Comments

As the Fourth Noble Truth, 'medicine' for Dukkha is prescribed via the 'Eightfold Path' ...

... Although the path is numbered sequentially, it is generally not seen as as series of steps, but instead (in modern terms) a 'holistic lifestyle' which is "to be developed more or less simultaneously, ... all linked together and each helping the cultivation of the others" (Buddhist Scholar Walpola Rahula in 'What the Buddha Taught'). For that reason, it is represented as the eight spokes of the Dharma Wheel, each supporting the entirety

The eight elements are typically divided into three groups ...

  • Wisdom (Sanskrit: prajñā)
1. Right View
2. Right Intention
  • Ethical Conduct (Sanskrit: śīla)
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action
5. Right Livelihood
  • Mental Discipline (Sanskrit: samādhi)
6. Right Effort
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration

Press on arrow for 'play'


Leave a comment