Thread: False Expectation of Zen Practice?

False Expectation of Zen Practice?

For a few weeks I have meant to ask Treeleaf's opinion about a recurring reflective thought: that I do not have (granted, my self-imagined) characteristics of committed zen practitioners (elan, frequent laughter, sense of lightness). I think I read somewhere once that many experienced folks laugh all of the time. I also read something once about a person feeling light all of the time, like they literally floated from place to place.

Thanks to lots of your comments and to Jundo and Taigu's video tutorials, I realize that these ideas of how zen should be can cause suffering. There are times when I catch this and there are times when I don't. But that's like shikantaza.

Have you ever experienced a sticky thought pattern like this? How did it change over time for you? Are there other ways to look at or consider it?

I have been sitting daily for about eight months, but I still feel pretty naive about what I'm doing.

Thank you for checking out my post.

Re: False Expectation of Zen Practice?

There are no doubt a lot of 'fluffy' ideas out there concerning Zen. Also - some Zen masters do seem calm and ebullient in equal degrees! When I witness such calmness I think 'I'll never be like that' but who knows what really goes on within the mind of the calmest, happiest, zenniest individual.

Charlotte Joko Beck writes

Wandering in the desert, looking for the Promised Land: this is our life ....... we may have read books that paint a pretty picture of the Promised Land ......... (but) ..... we may come to a discovery: wandering in the desert is the Promised Land.

So - as a result of practice - I don't expect to laugh all the time, or to float on air - just to be more in tune with what is - walking the beauty and hardship of this life with my feet of clay.

Gassho

Willow

Ryokan didn't laugh all the time. Less worry may mean more smiling and laughter, but not always so.