Thread: Creativity

Creativity

Since I have been sitting Shikantaza, I noticed I am more open to creativity. I work as a graphic designer which involves developing creative solutions every day. Doubt, fear and self-judgement are all creative killers, and I feel I can let go of those afflictions easier. This allows ideas to flow more freely and to be aligned with my creative abilities. Also, the finished design is simpler but in a good way. Simple meaning it's an effective, creative solution that meets the project objective without the unnecessary elements. I truly believe Shikantaza helps to be in touch with my creative side even though that's not the reason why I practice Shikantaza.

Has anyone else experienced more openness to their creativity whether it's art, writing, music, etc.? Please share if you have.

Thanks
    Jodi

Re: Creativity

Quote Originally Posted by jodi_h
    Since I have been sitting Shikantaza, I noticed I am more open to creativity. I work as a graphic designer which involves developing creative solutions every day. Doubt, fear and self-judgement are all creative killers, and I feel I can let go of those afflictions easier. This allows ideas to flow more freely and to be aligned with my creative abilities. Also, the finished design is simpler but in a good way. Simple meaning it's an effective, creative solution that meets the project objective without the unnecessary elements. I truly believe Shikantaza helps to be in touch with my creative side even though that's not the reason why I practice Shikantaza.

Has anyone else experienced more openness to their creativity whether it's art, writing, music, etc.? Please share if you have.
    That's tough to judge. I'm a freelance writer, and there are days when I can write a 1000-word article in an hour, with few corrections or revisions to make afterwards. I don't know if this is from experience, or if my mind is more flexible than in the past.