Thread: METTA PRACTICE HAS BEGUN!

METTA PRACTICE HAS BEGUN!

Hi,

You may have noticed that I have posted today a suggested Metta practice above (in the ANNOUNCEMENTS section), and I hope you will give it a try.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1199

We have talked about this for awhile ...

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1118&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&hi lit=metta

... but please feel free to post any additional impressions here ...

Gassho, Jundo

Re: METTA PRACTICE HAS BEGUN!

Hi,

My little online talk on Metta Practice is working now.

http://treeleafzen.blogspot.com/2008/10 ... metta.html

I wonder if everyone is trying Metta Practice this week and, if so, how it is going?

Gassho, Jundo

Hi Jundo,

Quote Originally Posted by Jundo
    I wonder if everyone is trying Metta Practice this week and, if so, how it is going?
    Yes, I'm just getting started with it. I've done it in the evenings just before going to sleep, but I'm thinking about taking it up before my morning Zazen practice in place of the sange mon (repentance), and doing the latter before going to sleep instead. It seems it would make more sense to start the day with metta and reflect on all that went wrong at the end of the day.

Gassho
    Ken

I've encountered mixed feelings on this. I was really excited about it, and printed out the posting, and have been trying to start this during the week. I thought it would be really easy and natural. So far, it's felt more perfunctory than anything else.

I loving starting with metta towards self, since that seems similar to any prayer or wish that that things go well for me, or else I be able to handle whatever does come. And, being insecure anyway, it's a strengthening exercise of sorts.