Thread: ARTS: Shakuhachi

ARTS: Shakuhachi

There has been some discussion of the shakuhachi in various threads, but perhaps it would be good to have a thread just discussing that instrument. I have been playing for about three years; I’m still a beginner. I know Kotei also plays, and I believe there are others interested in playing or in shakuhachi instrument.

So for those who want to learn a bit more about how this instrument is made, my teacher just posted this video on YouTube of a wonderful player and maker, Kodama Hiroyuki, showing how he makes jinashi shakuhachi. (Jinashi is one of the two types of shakuhachi, where the bore is left rough; the other type, jiari, has a paste in the bore to make the sound purer.)

I have a shakuhachi made by Kodama, and it is the instrument I play most.

Gassho,

Ryumon

Sat
    Last edited by Jundo; 02-19-2021 at 01:30 AM.
    流文

I know nothing.

And here is a video of Kodama playing a long shakuhachi, under the performing name of Chiku Za.

Gassho,

Ryumon

Sat
    流文

I know nothing.

I've long been a fan of the Shakuhachi. There's simply nothing else like it that can create such a hauntingly beautiful tone.

I used to try to play back in the day. I still have a simple, jinashi-style (non-root end) shakuhachi that was made by Ken Lacosse around 20+ years ago. For the life of me, I struggled for a long time to get a decent tone out of it. I've never studied with a proper teacher, so I have no idea if the problem was me, the shakuhachi, or a combination of both. It's probably just me and my inability to form a proper embouchure.

I keep telling myself that I'd like to pick it back up someday, but as I'm currently studying piano (with a teacher), I should probably not spread myself too thin.

Looking forward to learning more from folks here and hearing some of your playing. Perhaps you'll inspire me to pick it up again.

Gassho,
    Seikan

-stlah-
    聖簡 Seikan (Sacred Simplicity)