Thread: How should I choose the Zen practice to commit to?

How should I choose the Zen practice to commit to?

Hello everyone,
    I know it is a very general topic. I apologize for it.
    I have been practicing and trying different traditions for about two years (mindfulness, vipassana, korean zen whadu, shikantaza). In recent months I have focused on Zen practice, but jumping from shikantaza to whadu practice every few days. For some reason, I can't decide which practice I must follow regularly. I continually have doubts because I do not know how to decide between the practice that I think I should continue to be more consistent with my need to let go of my tendency to control and 'wanting things' (shikantaza) and the practice that, in the short term, relaxes me and makes me 'feel better' and less anxious (whadu). It is a doubt that begins to torture me.
    How can one choose the practice to commit to?
    How can I break the circle of doubts and constant changes of practice?
    Thank you in advance.
    V.

SatToday
    Last edited by VictorV; 12-08-2020 at 03:24 PM.

You are asking this question in the Sangha where the Master is a Dogenphile, the answers has to be Shikantaza But jokes aside I'm a bit like you and have experimented with few practices. So far Shikantaza proved to be the "easiest" and the most challenging at the same time. Oh, how I have doubt it! Just sitting and arriving with each breath without wanting and rejecting is just the perfect thing to do (for me personally). As Jundo said, you are in Trafalgar Square and you are trying to figure it out which Underground line to take to get to London. So I sit with the faith and conviction that I am already where I supposed to be. Shikantaza is my root sitting practice yet I do enjoy exploring from time to time by taking different "underground lines", my favourite being Antipasanti (mindfulness of breathing). I hope you'll find your perfect line.
    Appologies for running long.
    Gassho
    Sat