Thread: Am I still a buddhist?

Am I still a buddhist?

Hi. I haven't been around as of late. I think this will be a long post, for me at least so sorry about that. I haven't been participating probably the last 5 years, maybe more I've been barely active. Life has a certain way to keep you busy and make you lose your way.
    For those of you who dont know me I've been at treeleaf since 2008 i think. And i've seen it grow from maybe 30 people to what it is today. At one point the amount of messages just overwhelmed me and i started reading less and less. When i joined i was a student in nursing school. 24 years old and single. I am now 36, married. i have 3 boys ages 7, 6 and and a year and a half. I work in the O.R. i live in Israel (but hopefully will be moving to the US soon with my family). i guess Life does take a toll on you and i came to realize a few days ago that i have neglected my practice not only in this sangha as a member but in my life as well. I still sit each day and havent missed a day in over 4 years (even if it is only couple of minutes if I'm short on time). But i don't do much else. I didn't take jukai for years, i haven't been doing ango because i just cant find the time. I haven't done a retreat in many years becuase of the same reason, ive tried once but seeing my wife struggling with 2 kids (before the 3rd was born) made me stop after 1 day and help her. I began lying again. Mostly at work were i realized poeple dont care about you. Especially the boss they just need you to fill the holes and don't give a shit about your personal life. So you sometimes have to be untruthful if you need a day of to take care of family or personal business. It always surprises me how little compassion there is for each other from people who are supposed to be the most compassionate. I get angry and throw tantrums and lose my temper sometimes when i fight with my wife and yell horrible things like wanting a divorce (god knows how my puts up with me). I do try