Thread: Pitfalls of Shikantaza practice

Pitfalls of Shikantaza practice

Hello to all my sangha friends, I hope your practice is going well. I have a question on how do we avoid turning Shikantaza into an exercise of mere quietism and stress release? I believe this is a major criticism of silent illumination from the Rinzai sect. Whereas I am not a fan of koans as I believe it can be goal-orientated and must require regular dokusan with a teacher to test understanding. I think in the book "Circle of the Way" from Barabra O'Brien, she mentions after trying formal koan contemplation she realised that dokusan is the real point of the whole exercise. Maybe it's a question we can ask her directly tomorrow.

I have been practising for almost two years, and I have become very comfortable with sitting Shikantaza. Perhaps, this is what causing me some anxiety that my practice is turning into mere quietism. I actually enjoy the peace and silence of sitting, although I do understand from Jundo's teachings that is not the goal of practice. Perhaps it's a beneficial side effect of sitting in silence. However, how do we avoid turning our practice into mere quietism and stress release? I would be grateful for your wisdom and guidance.

Gassho
    Van
    Sat _/\_

Sent from my HD1913 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by vanbui; 06-20-2020 at 10:19 AM.

For me personally, I make sure to add rituals to every session. I walk slowly to my sitting area in shasho, I always bow to the statue of Buddha, then to my cushion, then to the room - even though nobody is there physically. I don't always recite the Heart Sutra, but most days I do. I always recite the robe verse, the verse of Atonement and the 4 vows. I think these actions allow me to keep zazen zazen, and not just an exercise in quietude. By coming to it wholeheartedly, you remind yourself of why you're there.

Gassho,
    Juki

Sat today and lah
    "First you have to give up." Tyler Durden