Thread: Anguttara Nikaya by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Anguttara Nikaya by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Hello all.
    I have a copy of this book and I know it's Theravadan and not Mahayana but would there be much in it that clashes with Zen teachings? I'm asking because I'm very new to Zen and don't want to confuse myself by reading it if that's the case.
    I'd imagine the words of the Buddha would still be of value but I'd like to hear the opinions of those who are more knowledgeable than myself.
    Thankyou in advance.

Gassho.
    Rob.

ST

Hi Rob

I am currently reading the Majjhima Nikāya in the same series, translated by Bhikkhu Nanamoli and Bhikkhu Bodhi.

There is definitely a different emphasis to the teachings and anything involving meditation instruction will almost certainly be different to our shikantaza approach.

I really enjoy the Pali Canon and the stories and teachings from there and consider it part of my overall training in Zen and Buddhism in general. However, I do assign it a much lesser priority than writings by masters such as Dogen and contemporary teachers of Zen whose words provide far more of an underpinning to how I actually practice.

On the forum, we refer to teachers such as Dogen on a daily basis. The Pali Canon comes up much less frequently, although all of the basic ideas such as the Four Noble Truths and Eightfold Path are woven through our tradition.

Gassho
    Kokuu
    -sattoday-
    Last edited by Kokuu; 07-13-2019 at 01:53 PM.

Hi Rob