Thread: Juzu beads

Juzu beads

I know from previous discussions here that juzu beads are not a thing in Soto zen. I'm learning the shakuhachi, and some performers in videos I've seen wear a rakusu when performing, and I've even seen a couple wearing juzu beads, such as Kifu Mitsuhashi here:

Screen Shot 2019-05-14 at 4.42.39 PM.jpg

He's also got beads around his wrist.

I haven't found anything about him to say which flavor of zen he's involved in, but from his garb, does he look like a Soto practitioner?

Kirk

Sat today
    流文

I know nothing.

Hi kirkmc!

Hard to say from that pic alone, but judging by the rakusu style and what seem to be small logos on the sleeves, I would say it is more like Jodo Shinshu's wisteria logo. See pic below:

cmn_footerlogo.jpg

Also, I'm no expert on juzu, but traditionally, the Soto Zen ones have a small metal ring on them, like this:

jyu-s233_1_w360.jpg

But it's hard to say because he covers the one on the neck with his hands, and those on his wrist look like generic juzu beads.

Cheers!

i looked at several pages in Japanese with his biography, but i cannot see where he received Jukai. However, the Rakusu is more in a formal, and very fancy, Rinzai style. The beads are also large. However, the Shakuhachil folks may also bestow Rakusu wilthin the Shakuhachi lineages. l am not sure.

The mon on his haori is probably his own family crest, or his school of Shakuhachi, rather than Buddhist.

Gassho, J

STLah

ALL OF LIFE IS OUR TEMPLE

Quote Originally Posted by ESMP View Post

Also, I'm no expert on juzu, but traditionally, the Soto Zen ones have a small metal ring on them, like this:

jyu-s233_1_w360.jpg
    That is true. However, average Japanese don't tend to follow such sect distinctions these days, and tend to wear a generic Juzu. Most lay people wear them just for funerals and memorial services for the ancestors, or (as in the one on his wrist made of some crystal) as a protective amulet for the "power."

Gassho, J

STLah