Thread: introducing myself

introducing myself

Zen koan...
    THE CROOKED PATH
    How do we go straight ahead
    On a narrow mountain path which
    Has ninety-three curves?

Greetings all:

Richard is working on an exhibit set for September and thus has taken some time off to focus on that effort. He’ll be back.
    In the meantime, Jundo has invited me to facilitate the art circle group for a bit. I am humbled and honored.

A little background: Richard is a painter. ‘I do everything but paint’ (that’s how I answer the complicated question…’what kind of art do you make?’). My work is object oriented, concept specific installation art (mostly environmental issues), or drawings focused on the beautiful but mundane in nature (seeds, grass, insects etc.). I am a crafts-person. I love working with materials, wide variety of materials have crossed my studio in the 40 plus years I’ve been an artist. From steel to grass, wood, clay, paper, graphite to bee’s wax, really anything that I must use to say what I want to say. Most recently I’m working with paper and thread (e.g. Rakusu Project and some more recent thread ‘drawings’).

I'd like our discussions to be about how we approach art, our relationship with it and how it fits into our life. Anyone who is affected by art, makes art, thinks about creativity (which means really everyone) is invited to participate. So, writers, musicians, photographers, sculptors, painters really everyone, please participate. Even if you are not actively making art, you have a lot to contribute.

Some possible topics:
    - inspiration including interdisciplinary inspiration. Who/what is our muse and how we find her.
    - a post on how we prepare to make art, what that practice might look like.
    - discuss art making intuitively or intellectually, and how to access the intuitive
    - what is creativity (philosophers, poets everyone has tried to figure this one out)
    - wonder and curiosity in the creative process