Thread: To Count or Not to Count.

To Count or Not to Count.

I'm not a beginner to meditation - but I am new to zazen. I find that following or simply observing my breath is more natural than counting my in and out breaths. Actually, I feel like counting brings on mental chatter surrounding breath - the quality of it, if I'm counting too quickly, slowly.

Now - the natural response is likely going to be - "okay, then don't count" haha. But I was just curious if anyone else had this issue when starting in zazen, or even now.

Best,

-w.

sat today.

Hi w, I responded to someone on the new member thread who had a similar comment. I have always had the same problem. If I count, I can't even do it once without sending my mind spinning off in all directions. I can't get to 10 and start over--before I know it, I am at 20 or 30 without realizing it. It was a relief to give it up and move on to Shikantaza "just sitting." At least then I notice right away when my mind starts to cling to a train of thought so I can come back to the present. Maybe it's an ADHD thing?
    Gassho
    Jakuden
    SatToday

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by wtylerallen View Post
    I'm not a beginner to meditation - but I am new to zazen. I find that following or simply observing my breath is more natural than counting my in and out breaths. Actually, I feel like counting brings on mental chatter surrounding breath - the quality of it, if I'm counting too quickly, slowly.

Now - the natural response is likely going to be - "okay, then don't count" haha. But I was just curious if anyone else had this issue when starting in zazen, or even now.

Best,

-w.

sat today.
    Hi Tyler,

Please check out our "We're All Always Beginners" Series, especially the episode on breathing (No. 11) ...

http://www.treeleaf.org/forums/showt...-Begin-Here%21