Thread: The creative process

The creative process

Hi. I'd like to start a conversation about the creative process. I'm a painter, who over time has conditioned a kind of specialized painting brain, so the process will look a certain way. Please do write about your own experience. Everyone is different and of course there is no right and wrong, better or worse.

I've tried to describe it as clearly as possible........

Creative inspiration and energy are the basic elements of my work life. Since the age of 18 (now 51) when the first painting was sold, it has been important to understand the creative process and work with it daily. Livelihood has depended on this.

Inspiration/energy, can not be forced or manufactured. It can only be invited by cultivating good conditions and leaving myself open to it. Once it arrives it is a temporary state. It rises, crests, and falls away. Becoming familiar with how inspiration rises and falls, and learning to let it go, has been a necessary career and life lesson.

First Here is a description from my studio journal describing the quality of heightened inspiration and energy....

Inspiration can be defined as the sudden appearance of a novel idea or vision. It can also be defined as a state of receptivity that allows for the flow of ideas. There is another factor that I think is more basic to all this. It is a special intensity of aesthetic appreciation that involves a welling-up of energy. This energy brightens and expands the whole outlook and activates abilities that are otherwise not available.