Thread: Bowing- Why?

Bowing- Why?

Hi all,

I have been away from the Sangha and my practice for a long time. I'm currently getting myself in the mind set to re-astablish my practice but I feel I am back at the begining again. Well they say a beginners mind is a good thing.

How and why do we bow? What do we bow to? Could someone please shed some light on this for me.

With metta,
    Steve

Hi Steve,

Quote Originally Posted by Tin_Sandwich View Post
    How and why do we bow?
    Why not? (I don't mean this in a smart-ass way)

Quote Originally Posted by Tin_Sandwich View Post
    What do we bow to?
    To everyone and no one, to everything and nothing.
    In fact, you bow to yourself.

However, better ask Jundo, the above is just my spontaneous outburst...

Gassho,

Daitetsu

#about to sit within the hour#
    Last edited by Daitetsu; 12-08-2014 at 07:56 PM.
    no thing needs to be added

Well, I'm just a rank beginner, but for me the bow has become a transition, a time to slide from the state experienced in shikantaza to the different state of mind as my mind resumes it's chaotic duties of everyday life. Without the bow it almost seems jarring to snap back into the usual world again. Again though, that's just me, the guy with 1 whole month of daily zazen in his life.
    (But it's one month that has done wonders to relieve my blood pressure and anxiety I should add)

Gassho,
    Paul
    Sat today
    Last edited by treebeard; 12-08-2014 at 08:49 PM.
    Paul

Gassho,
    sat today

Hi Steve,

there was some good discussion of bowing on this thread recently, starts about halfway through:

http://www.treeleaf.org/forums/showt...-THREE-REFUGES

Jundo has a great answer he gives about bowing, I'm sure he'll post it here soon.

In the past Taigu has said that we practice first, and then we understand. That worked for me.

Gassho
    Lisa
    sat today

P.s.
    Paul, congratulations on one whole month of daily zazen!