Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blue Sky Clouded Mind

Blue Sky Clouded Mind

Hello all

I am beginning to think we ought to add a vow, making it 5 vows, to answer all questions though answers endless.

I am am finding myself in a state of confusion as to exactly the right method for shikantaza. Now I am sure some will say oh well by now you ought to know what you are doing , and maybe it is more that now that I have some experience, I do not really think I DO know. I want to make sure I am doing this correctly, not that I am rushing towards enlightenment or anything like that.

My confusion arises with the whole concept of returning to the blue sky in your mind. I don't really think I understand what we are to do with thoughts when we sit. Some say let them be, some say let them go. Taigu, I believe, says drop everything.

In one of Jundo's instructional videos he talks about returning to the clear blue sky. This is a similar technique to Taoist "seated earth meditation" in which one sits and visualizes a blue sky and each thought is a cloud which you visualize blowing away. Maybe this is why I get confused.

So do we

1. simply make an effort to drop all thoughts and visualize a clear blue sky?

2. Is the blue sky thing just a metaphor for dropping all thoughts?

3. Do we drop all thoughts or just sit with all thoughts letting them be?

4. Are any of these thoughts on thoughts correct?

What I have been doing is just sitting, and when thoughts come up just letting them go, telling my mind to not dwell on them this is the time for not-thought. Is this correct?

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thank you!

Gassho
    C

Hi Clark,

Some say let them be, some say let them go. Taigu, I believe, says drop everything. In one of Jundo's instructional videos he talks about returning to the clear blue sky.
    I do not see much difference there in the words.