PDA

View Full Version : 5/1 - Branching Streams: 11th Talk - We Should Not Stick

Jundo
05-01-2009, 02:03 PM
Heading into the home stretch (although ... in Zen, that is the "always home" stretch) ...

We come to the ELEVENTH TALK in Suzuki Roshi's talks on the Sandokai ... "We Should Not Stick to Words or Rules Too Much", pages 153 to 160.

There is an extra talk by Zoketsu Norm Fischer on the Sandokai, not necessarily about his section in particular. Of course, all things are connected, so please have a listen ...

http://www.everydayzen.org/index.php?It ... io-602-384 (http://http://www.everydayzen.org/index.php?Itemid=27&option=com_teaching&topic=Suzuki+Roshi&sort=title&studyguide=true&task=viewTeaching&id=audio-602-384)

Remember to consider a donation to Zoketsu if you have benefited from these talks.

Gassho, Jundo

Shohei
05-01-2009, 04:22 PM
Hello all
This was a great lesson that Im still learning. I came to realize this through practice and some examination of my own thoughts and behavior that i was sticking to much to my own rules and to other rules as well. When i realized that doing so was actually causing more separation and grief than they were helping i changed my attitude and let my tight grip on them go completely.

So the most important thing is not the rules but finding the true source of the teaching with your eyes and ears wherever you are. This is a direct way to know the source of the teaching, without trying to establish some particular way for yourself.