PDA

View Full Version : ART v CRAFT

Cooperix
02-13-2019, 10:22 PM
Greetings.

Nanrin brought up this subject... I think a fascinating subject.
https://www.treeleaf.org/forums/showthread.php?16485-Beginnings&p=236545#post236545

As a young woman I studied ceramics. I became quite proficient, a studio potter, even supporting myself on my craft for over a decade. In the early 80s, bored with production work I decided to enroll in graduate school to see if I could take my creative interests to a different, more rewarding level. In working toward my MFA, I had to go outside my area and chose drawing and metal working. The program opened my mind and my materials vocabulary, allowing me to say what I wanted to say, other than creating a functional object, beautiful it might be but still functional.

After receiving my MFA I further explored my fascination with materials. I learned woodworking, steel work and welding, metal casting, drawing, paper making to name a few of my skills. I realized that each new skill required time to learn, but in order to put together the ‘artwork’ that was my goal I needed to master each material.

I am a crafts person. But am I an artist?

Recently when being considered for a museum show it came up that Anne is a craftsman. I use my artisan skills to make my art. Although my work does not fall into the functional category and hasn’t since finishing my MFA almost 40 years ago, but because the materials I use are typically used by artisans I can fall into that category.

In Japan, the artisans are considered National Treasures. There is no distinction. Maybe it’s a cultural distinction? I wonder.

Writers, this topic might relate to you as well. When is writing literary? What about poetry, children's' literature, memoir, mystery writing etc?

Thoughts?

gassho

Anne
~st~

Nengei
02-14-2019, 01:22 AM
To me, based on usage, the terms artist, craftsman/person, and artisan have distinct meanings.