PDA

View Full Version : Oryoki revival?

Meitou
02-05-2018, 08:31 AM
Hello everyone, I was wondering if there are any plans to revive the Oryoki practice? I've been thinking that even once a month, maybe around full moon or new moon might be a good time to come together? I'm a complete novice having practised for the first time during Ango and I'm now keen to keep up a regular practice.
Incidentally, I've also been thinking about tea ceremony too as I would really love to learn the basics and wondered if anyone else would be interested.
Gassho
Meitou
Satwithyoualltoday lah

Shugen
02-05-2018, 04:55 PM
Hello Meitou,

That sounds like a wonderful idea.

I am usually available Sunday mornings PST. Is there a time that would work for those interested?

Gassho,

Shugen

Sattoday/LAH

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Jakuden
02-05-2018, 10:26 PM
I am interested, anytime Sunday morning would usually work for me.

Gassho,
Jakuden
SatToday/LAH

aprapti
02-05-2018, 10:35 PM
i would be interested, but i am not very good in this time schedule business. I think 9 o'clock in the morning PST would be 6 o'clock in the evening CET. That would fit.

gassho2
Coos
std/lah

Sekishi
02-06-2018, 02:01 AM
Hello everyone, I was wondering if there are any plans to revive the Oryoki practice? I've been thinking that even once a month, maybe around full moon or new moon might be a good time to come together? I'm a complete novice having practised for the first time during Ango and I'm now keen to keep up a regular practice.

I try to eat an oryoki meal at least once a month, usually on the day after the long Zazenkai. I used do it on the full moon Uposatha day observance, but over time it just seemed to make more sense to make Uposatha the long Zazenkai day (e.g. the long Zazenkai starts the day of observance, it ends the following sundown) instead of the full moon. Its corny / goofy I guess, but it works for me.