PDA

View Full Version : Play on Calligraphy

Risho
08-17-2016, 02:54 PM
So I'm not artist, and I found that out earlier this year when I got this gut instinct to do something special for my wife's birthday. I love gut instincts, and personal gifts are awesome.

Anyway, even though I'm not a proficient artist, I actually enjoy it quite a bit. I've always had a creative streak, so I'm going to do another project in the upcoming months - maybe during Ango.

I did a lot of research, I found a local art shop asked a lot of questions, bla. I felt like I entered a whole new world. It's amazing. So, I decided I would do acrylic because everyone says that's a good beginner medium, so I picked that. Initially I wanted to paint a sumi-e (ink painting) inspired Sakura tree -- or Japanese cherry tree in bloom. I love that image, we had a dog named Sakura, so it would be really symbolic and heartfelt

Except, I realized, that I didn't have the skill level to pull it off (it's so much easier in my mind haahahha), and even though I'm not an expert, I wanted to still do something that looked ok. So I chose calligraphy. I love calligraphy, and I soon realized it is very difficult. Very difficult. And when you are using acrylic you are really painting more than doing calligraphy.

So anyway, I wanted to stick with acrylic because I wanted to make sure it lasted, and I figured I could get brush to canvas much more quickly, although one of my dreams is to actually study sumi-e painting and calligraphy. I've always loved it. I love the strokes, I love the red signature stamps and how they pop against the black figures.

So I set up an adhoc studio in my cube at work to keep this completely secret. I had to sand the canvas, apply this medium (I think that's the correct term) called gesso to make sure that the canvas would be as smooth as possible. I repeated this 2 additional times, waiting about 24 hours between gesso coats.