PDA

View Full Version : Buddha touching the Earth part #3

RichardH
05-12-2016, 02:22 PM
Hi. The initial inspiration for the art circle was to set forward project themes in three parts. Part one would be an introduction and discussion of the Dharma subject. Part two would be creative play and experimentation. Part three would be defining and working on more involved projects. This last part is where I would get engaged as a mirror, and as someone with professional experience in the creative process. It is where we would get into the nitty gritty of that process.

Treeleaf has a very wise “grain of salt” rule for trainees. I am a junior, a novice, who has the potential to be priest/teacher one day. At this very early point I am just learning to ring a bell and fold a Kesa. The teacher confers permission to step forward and speak on behalf of the tradition, when she/he sees that student is ready. It is a big responsibility. Needless to say, I am at the very beginning of that process, with no expectation going forward, and I see the training as an end in itself. Appearing to teach Dharma would be inappropriate.

The issue that has come up for me is an incompatibility between facilitating art at Treeleaf, and keeping the appropriate speech and conduct for my status as a junior priest-in-training. Outside of Treeleaf art-worklife and Buddhist-life have grown together since being a teen. Adopted by a local sangha like a surrogate family, Buddhism was “the way things are”. This means it has become inseparable from art making, and how I teach art. Even though Buddhism is never explicitly mentioned, it is impossible to teach, or engage the creative process with others, without appearing to teach dharma. I don't know any other way.