Thread: What does a good teacher see?

What does a good teacher see?

I've had some experience with different teachers in different Buddhist traditions. Some teachers seem to see wisdom in their students, and some seem to see just a lack of wisdom in the student that they themselves have. It seems to me that a mark of a good teacher is that he/she sees the wisdom. ...and I have found that there is a huge difference in my own quality of practice depending on these different teacher experiences. So, my question for formal students here at Treeleaf, informal practitioners, and teachers is..... What does a good teacher see?

Thanks.

Re: What does a good teacher see?

None of your business would be my first take on your question :mrgreen:

Behind this apparent stupid joke lies an absolute truth: we are so busy with what we aren't and what we don't have (I am no exception by far :roll: ). Zen is precisely and exercise of great poverty, rather than chasing other people's tails and tales, we merely turn the light in and do the backward step, which is exactly the opposite of what you ask here.Then, the question rephrased would be: What do I see? Who is seing now? Is this seperate from that?

I am sure that your experiences are very interesting and they make a nice collection of memories that you can wear like a neckless of beautiful beads...But all this is irrelevant in front of this moment, now.

This collection I also have is a bit like a photo album, quite heavy memorabilia, enjoyable to flick through, and a definitive proof that I am solid, I exist, I can judge, I have an opinion, I have been there...
    Once closed, the book vanishes into thin air and our eyes may open on something so vast and fresh and free.

Thank you for your question.

gassho

Taigu

Hi,