Thread: Personal experiences of impermenance and change

Johnjo

Personal experiences of impermenance and change

Hi everyone

Finally had a chance to sit down and type my first post...sorry 2nd (1st was saying hello!).

I have been sitting for 6 months now and although Its now a part of my life which I am thankful for, it has made me very aware of change and impermanence, which is a bit of a shock to the system. There is no stable ground. I can honestly say prior to zazen I new things changed, my daughter is growing, friends suddenly split up, my hair loss! etc but zazen has brought an awareness of just how profound this is and although I am glad to know this, it is also quite scary at times as the scale at which change is happening or my awareness of it and how fundamentally I am a part of this and not separate from it seems to have increased tenfold!! Its as if somebody has opened the net curtians that I didn't even know were there and i can now see a sharper more detailed landscape than before and in every crack and cranny things are constantly in flux. (maybe i just subconsciously ignored it previously, i dont know).

I was wondering what other peoples experiences of this have been like?

Kind Regard and gassho

John

Re: Personal experiences of impermenance and change

My experience is that the more iaccept this impermanence and there is nothing I can do to avoid death there is apeace that is actually right here for all to share. This doesn't mean that everything is always peaceful

Welcome to the show, dude. Just sit zazen and take it all in. I think we all go through a phase of "Whoa" for a while, but things slow down and you begin to take it all in. It's like a great concert, only it's your life, and all of life as part of your life, is the "show." You've got a front row seat, now just use it.

Well I don't normally respond to newbies with less than 10 posts. just kidding :mrgreen: Welcome.