Thread: Lazy Feet

Lazy Feet

When I sit, I sit for 15 minutes at a time being less than a month old to Zazen. Without fail, at minute 12 or 13 the tingling in both of my feet has become so intense that I generally spend the last 2 minutes sitting in more of a sprawled out position instead of with legs crossed.

Is there a trick to not having my extremities fall asleep while sitting?

Gassho,
    Phil

Re: Lazy Feet

Phil,
    I know how you feel. I am new to sitting zazen and my feet go numb everytime. Maybe some of the others will have a solution for this.

Gassho,
    Bryan

Hi Phil,

For anyone to give advice we will need a little more info on your sitting in general. What are you sitting on? What position are you sitting? With a few more details we can take a closer look at it and try to offer advice.

Gassho,
    John

I've found that the higher my butt sits on the zafu, the less stress is on my legs, because my hips are rotated down more and that facilitates blood flow better. Also, I sit in kind of a modified half lotus, with my left foot on my right thigh/calf (just behind my knee) and my right foot just on top of my left calf. Hope that helps!

I guess my "zafu" is just an oversized pillow, which I don't always use. I'd say 50% of time I'm just on the floor. I have wondered if I needed to engineer some sort of solution where I sit just a bit higher then my legs.

Hi Philip,
    I recommend Rev Taigu's videos on the basics of sitting posture. It's full of great advice and can be found on the site here.

It is important to establish a stable posture right away. It is not a good idea to sit on the floor. Sit on a zafu, hardback books, a block of wood ... whatever lifts you up off the floor and allows your pelvis tilt a little forward.