Thread: I'm still falling asleep

I'm still falling asleep

I thought there was a thread on this somewhere in the Forum, but I can't find it.

Actually, the problem of sleeping during sitting meditation led me to discover Treeleaf Zendo, but I can't remember how (though it was only recently ).

I've only been able to sustain a daily sitting practice for about seven months now, after a few short-lived attempts over the previous 30 years. I found myself starting to fall asleep during sitting about three months ago. I thought it may have been to do with simple fatigue (the end of a busy school year - I'm a school administrator), but it's started again lately, even though I've been on holidays for about seven weeks.

About 8 - 10 minutes into a sitting the eyes start to blink rapidly. I try to rest them for about a count of five slow breaths, which helps, but, soon after, I have to rest them again. Then I'm out to it after only 2-3 breaths.

Mornings are not good for sitting for me, but whether I sit in the afternoon or evening the problem is the same.

Can anyone advise?

Gassho
    Adrian

Re: I'm still falling asleep

Quote Originally Posted by Adrian
    I thought there was a thread on this somewhere in the Forum, but I can't find it.

Actually, the problem of sleeping during sitting meditation led me to discover Treeleaf Zendo, but I can't remember how (though it was only recently ).

I've only been able to sustain a daily sitting practice for about seven months now, after a few short-lived attempts over the previous 30 years. I found myself starting to fall asleep during sitting about three months ago. I thought it may have been to do with simple fatigue (the end of a busy school year - I'm a school administrator), but it's started again lately, even though I've been on holidays for about seven weeks.