Thread: Walking Zazen

Walking Zazen

Hello,

I am new to the sitting on a constant basis and had a question regarding the walking aspect. I participated in last weekends extended session on Saturday and found myself lost regarding the walking aspect. I am not sure what we are suppose to be focusing on, if it is on still trying to quiet the mind and meditate or if we are suppose to be focusing on something else? I have never done the walking aspect before so I am clueless really. I would appreciate it if anybody had any insight regarding this.

Thank you,
    Dave

Re: Walking Zazen

I don't know what is Jundo's opinion, but I often heard that walking must be done the same way we do zazen. When the mind is too busy, we can focus on the breath, or on something else we find useful to quiet the mind. But once it is done I think it is important to "get back to the all experience", and not being limited to a "one point focusing" practice (like just the breath ).

I know it is basic, It just seems important to me,
    Hope it helps you!

Gassho,

Luis

Sorry if I'm not clear, I will let the other "leafers" express themselves more fluently :wink:

Hello Dave, and welcome to the site.

You might want to take this as a good time to start playing around with the search function (upper right part of the page) and search the term "Kinhin."

That will probably give you a good start. I could blabber on my little bit, but it's already been said much better than I ever could hope to say it.

The previous post of mine came out sounding a little rude. Sorry about that.

Here's something that Jundo has up that will probably be of great help:

http://treeleafzen.blogspot.com/2008...do-kinhin.html

Hey, Jundo, now that I look at that link I posted, I notice that you are teaching the following: "Bring your left thumb to the middle of your left palm and close your fist around it. Hold your left fist in front of your chest and cover it with your right hand."