Thread: As it is not as it is...

As it is not as it is...

Hi folks....

Just want to give my opinion that

as it is not as it is.

We may think about as it is. But when we think about as it is or not as it is, it will be dualism.
    What is called as "as it is" is just simply as it is... :|

Gassho, Mujo

Re: As it is not as it is...

This fellow just shows up here ... leaves a gift ... moves on his way. He'll be back again. No traces.

Thus his name is Mujo

I like the aura of mystique, but as a beginner I could really use a little commentary on "as it is"... I'm aware of the undesired dualism, but beyond that I'm feeling kinda in the dark :?

Quote Originally Posted by Tobiah
    I like the aura of mystique, but as a beginner I could really use a little commentary on "as it is"... I'm aware of the undesired dualism, but beyond that I'm feeling kinda in the dark :?
    It's okay, Tobiah. I've been a member of Treeleaf for a little while now and hanging around Zen circles even longer and I still spend most of my time in the dark. ops: I'll even go so far as to admit that as I read 'as it is' it turned into a Seuss-esque version of green eggs and ham in my head- "I do not like as it is, I do not like it Mr. Liz.' :shock:

I guess it is just as it is....

Gassho,
    Jen

Quote Originally Posted by Tobiah
    I can't explain it to you (that is actually what Shui's post is about). But I can tell you the method ... and do that each day around here.

When you drop all expectations, judgments, need to add or take away ... then all phenomena of the universe, all "Dharma, you, me, the chair, flowers, trees and the stars in the sky ... are all "just what they are".

And if one even can allow the separation and names of "this" and "that" to slip away ... then all (to quote Suzuki Roshi) are "Things-As-It-Is"

Keep sitting, throwing away even "as-it-is"

Does that help?

Gassho, Jundo