Thread: 3/7 - Living Out the Reality of Life p. 34

3/7 - Living Out the Reality of Life p. 34

Are we living out the reality of life ... or just memories and fantasies, dogma and doctrines, caught up in thoughts?

Let's think about it.

Gassho, Jundo

Re: 3/7 - Living Out the Reality of Life p. 34

Quote Originally Posted by Jundo
    Are we living out the reality of life ... or just memories and fantasies, dogma and doctrines, caught up in thoughts?

Let's think about it.

Gassho, Jundo
    Word.

Quote Originally Posted by Uchiyama
    You have to open your eyes to your present reality and start off with a totally naked self, possessing no property or anything else.
    There were two things in this section that I found especially interesting. First, I am a painter, so I find it easy to empathise with the artist he mentions. I have been painting for about 17 years since I took early retirement from a job as a power station engineer. I have sold a lot of paintings in that time but I certainly wouldn't like to have to try to make a living from it. And it's so easy to become jealous of other painters who sell at exhibitions when your own paintings haven't sold. But I have had to realise that you have no entitlement or right to a painting sale. It is often just a matter of luck that someone has similar tastes and likes what you do. I realised years ago that the main thing to do is as Uchiyama says, to just enjoy your painting ( or whatever your work is ).