Thread: Techy request

Techy request

OOOOOOOK! Remember that the first rule of conduct on this forum is to be KIND, eh? :P I couldn't figure out how else to get help but to post this here.

I'm no newbie to computer whatsits but I am having one deeeevil of a time trying to get my picture down to the 6kb limit in order to upload it for my avatar offering. No problem getting it to the 80x80 pixel size, it's just that it won't drop down below 10.5kb.

Anyone got any hints or suggestions on this? I've even tried dropping the resolution to 100 dpi but it looks so BAAAAADDDD that I wouldn't upload it if it made the cut so I'm trying to keep the 300dpi rez.

In order to keep the bandwidth of the forum free from spammy and un-zenny issues please PM me with your thoughts and suggestions.

Right...over and out! (and manymanymany thanks!)

*Lynn

Hello Lynn,
    Check your pm when you can. I hope it helps.

Gassho _/_
    dirk

I don't know what Krid said, but here's what I do. And if you ask anyone, I do it quite a bit. :roll:

Take a pic. I use photoshop, but another program might do. crop your picture so it's only your face, then go to image size in the edit menu.
    Resize it so the lowest pixel width or height is 80, then save it as a gif. That should work.

Gassho

i said the mostly the same thing. Only im too long winded

_/_

techy problem

Hello Lynn and others here:

I just now tried to look through old forums/threads. Quite a while back several folks put some links up to some 'automatic avatar making' sites. You'd submit a photo to the site and give the specs needed and voila, c'est tout!
    I have no idea where or in what thread they're buried in.
    I had saved these sites because they were very handy--however, my hard drive died, taking everything with it!

If someone knows this link to the avatar making site--please post it!

many thanks,

gassho
    keishin

~**WOO HOO!!**~ :P