Thread: Negative Things Coming Up whilst Sitting

Negative Things Coming Up whilst Sitting

So the last couple days I have had some strange experiences during zazen. For whatever reason I keep dwelling on my mothers death, which happened 12 years ago. I fully admit that I probably have issues in this regard I need to sort out but I just find it strange that all of a sudden it's been popping up. I also keep thinking about my father being 77 and is probably going to die soon, which isnt even logical because he is in great health for his age.

My question is, is this normal? Have others had things drug up in their practice that they have had to work through? I honestly have no real "fear" of death but it's more of a guilt thing as if somehow it all rests on me.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Gassho,
    Jeffrey
    "I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived."
    Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Hi Jeff,

Yes, it is normal.

The Buddha set out on his quest in search of the meaning of old age, sickness and death. Yes, we all get old. Our parents get old and die. We will all experience a loved one's death, and our own. We all worry and, sometimes, even feel some guilt about such things.

Have I cheered you up?

In the silence and stillness of Zazen, as the mind puts aside all the usual daily distractions, stuff can "come up" from deep within. Old memories, fears, paranoia, anger ... all can float up like flotsam and jetsam. I once suddenly recalled and relived something mean and insulting I said to my father when I was about 10 years old, decades ago, and felt great guilt. I once recalled with a cold sweat or fear and guilt during Zazen falling asleep at the wheel of the car while driving down the highway, almost running off the road with my whole family in the car. All kind of things ...