Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mechanics of Enlightenment

Mechanics of Enlightenment

Hi all,

The Tibetans are clear in terms of how Enlightenment happens - a non-conceptual experience of Emptiness (usually through a very analytical form of meditation). So to the Theravadin schools, insight gained through experiencing Anatta through meditation and developing Pannya.

How does Shikantaza facilitate 'Enlightenment'?

Thanks,

Tony...

Dear Tony,

although I am by no means an expert, even "the Tibetans" have a colourful multitude of different models based on different ontological assumptions.

There is no single one-and-only true Zen doctrine set in stone, but if one really feels the need to look into some of the most important historical influences that get into some technical details, one could do worse than to look at the following (Ashvaghosha's Awakening of Faith):

http://www.thezensite.com/ZenTeachin..._of_faith.html

A famous and very short Zen formula would be:

"A special transmission outside the scriptures,
    Not founded upon words and letters;
    By pointing directly to [one's] mind
    It lets one see into [one's own true] nature and [thus] attain Buddhahood."

Btw. most of the Tibetan Mahamudra and Dzogchen texts I have come across over the years seem to make it clear that realising emptiness alone does not equal anuttara-samyak-sambodhi.

In Shikantaza we resolve that kind of thing on the cushion , dropping likes and dislikes, opening into that which arises to the point where practise and enlightenment are not two.
    That's what we cultivate, through non doing we turn milk into cream, which has always been fully present the whole time.

Gassho,

Hans Chudo Mongen
    Last edited by Hans; 12-12-2013 at 11:28 AM.

The Tibetans are clear in terms of how Enlightenment happens - a non-conceptual experience of Emptiness (usually through a very analytical form of meditation)