Thread: if not zazen, then what?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

if not zazen, then what?

What is it if it "is not zazen"? I work as a teacher and sometimes, in between classes, I'll just sit at my desk (on a chair) and just do what we all do when doing zazen. Is this just mindfulness practice? Or if I am watching a game, or drinking a beer, and know "this is what I am doing"? Is this akin to Jundo's Insta-Sittings?
    Oh, yeah. If I didn't have inner peace, I'd go completely psycho on all you guys all the time.
    Carl Carlson

Quote Originally Posted by bayamo View Post
    What is it if it "is not zazen"? I work as a teacher and sometimes, in between classes, I'll just sit at my desk (on a chair) and just do what we all do when doing zazen. Is this just mindfulness practice? Or if I am watching a game, or drinking a beer, and know "this is what I am doing"? Is this akin to Jundo's Insta-Sittings?

Only sitting on the cushion facing a wall is sitting. Dropping all goals, judgments, thought of other place in need of being or thing in need of doing in all time and space (and timeless spaceless too). Shikantaza. Only sitting on the cushion is Shikantaza is Zazen.

That said, when rising from the cushion, much of life can be Shikantaza if conducted the same way. Sitting on a chair between classes ... if dropping all goals, judgments, thought of other place in need of being or thing in need of doing in all time and space (and timeless spaceless too). Shikantaza.

Drinking tea and watching a sunrise ... if dropping all goals, judgments, thought of other place in need of being or thing in need of doing in all time and space (and timeless spaceless too). Shikantaza.

So maybe also drinking a beer and watching a game ... if dropping all goals, judgments, thought of other place in need of being or thing in all time and space (and timeless spaceless too). Shikantaza.

The main pointless point?